Mariah Carey “Memoirs of An Imperfect Angel” Full Review!!!

mariah carey memoirs album cover

Wow!!! This isn’t quite what I expected… I thought she was going to delivery “The Emancipation of Mimi” rebadged and continued but what I got was the most revealing, personal and honest Mariah Carey album to date…  I have to say that I’m pleasantly surprised!

I was really worried when I found out how involved The Dream was going to be with this project. I liked “Touch My Body” but he made Mariah too pop for me but here he provides the perfect production for her “Charmbraclet” reminiscent vocals… I’m proud of him!

“Obsessed” was the perfect track to lead the promo campaign but it’s nothing at all like the rest of the album. Buzz was it’s only purpose, well that and slaying Eminem…

The song is a Billboard Top 10 Hit but it be a #1 if she had promoted it correctly… I still don’t know what that was about…

Track List:

Disc One

1. Betcha Gon’ Know

2. Obsessed

3. H.A.T.E.U

4. Candy Bling

5. Ribbon

6. Inseparable

7. Standing O

8. It’s A Wrap

9. Up Out My Face

10. Up Out My Face (The Reprise)

11. More Then Just Friends

12. The Impossible

13. The Impossible (The Reprise)

14. Angel (The Prelude)

15. Angels Cry

16. Languishing (The Interlude)

17. I Want To Know What Love Is

Disc 2 OBSESSED

1.  Cahill Radio Mix

2. Seamus Haji & Paul Emanuel Radio Edit

3. Jump Smokers Radio Edit

4. Friscia and Lamboy Radio Mix

The pink tracks make this album just as good and arguably better then “The Emancipation of Mimi”. The critics are also comparing it to “DayDream” and “ButterFly”!

The album is composed of songs like “Bliss”, “We Belong Together”, “Baby Doll”, “Subtle Invitation” “BreakDown” and “Lullaby”. Mariah came hard with this almost completely R&B record!

After hearing the album, I’m not sure why she selected “I Wanna Know What Love Is” as her second single. She really could have left that off the album all together in favor of tracks like “Inseparable”, “It’s A Wrap” or “H.A.T.E.U”. Any of the highlighted tracks would have been great choices.I hope she doesn’t squander this whole album by choosing ALL the wrong singles..

My favorite track is “The Impossible”!!! I’m in a great relationship right now and it’s the perfect soundtrack for me when the significant other has me floating, 24/7! LOL. “It’s A Wrap” is a great song, Mariah’s getting her En Vogue On!!!

“Inseparable” has “We Belong Together” chart and radio potential! I hope L.A Reid sees that as well…

The album is only expected to do 150 to 200,000 copies it’s first week but don’t be fooled! This is perhaps the best album she’s released via Def Jam and is only going to debut so low because it was available about 3 weeks prior to it’s official release date… COP IT IMMEDIATELY!!!!

TrueClefMusic Rating: 4.75 out of 5

2 Responses to “Mariah Carey “Memoirs of An Imperfect Angel” Full Review!!!”

  1. princejai Says:

    impossible had to grow on me…but u dont have standing o ribbon or up out my face highlighted lol…those are the songs i rock to and find myself singing alot lol….i think this is the best album writing wise since charmbracelet and i will say to me this is the best album since butteryfly…Music Box is my fav album by her lol so im glad it came out b4 B.fly lol

    • I like standing o but it had to grow on me, I skip over ribbon EVERYTIME, I don’t like it lol!

      Yea that’s what I thought to, there’s vulnerability in the writing I haven’t seen since charmbraclet, which is one of my favorite albums…

      Overall I think it’s arguably her best def jam release, she can’t match the emancipations vocals but the lyrical content and production definately rival that album!

Leave a Reply

